top of page

Hello and lets get started.

For a while now I have been wondering how I can use a blog to help support learning. I already provide online tutoring sessions as one to one and groups. For this I use a bank of resources I have built up over the years and an online learning platform.

The question I have been asking myself is how would I be able to actually get all of those resources on here. The answer is, I can't. I have far to many and I would n't know where to start, as they cover a wide age range and a lot of subjects.

So to start with, I think I will post some daily activities that you can use. Feel free to adapt them. Be creative with them. Remember teaching and learning is not a straight path. We are all different.

Have fun!


Activity 1. Listen Carefully


There are so many sounds that we hear daily. Some people can focus on a single sound amidst others and pay attention to it. Some people can get easily distracted if there are too many sounds at once and they can end up missing out on important information.


Aim

The aim of this activity to recognise how much you really listen to and hear the sounds around you. To understand how important it is to listen to sound without being distracted by all the other different sounds that are happening at the same time.


Materials

  • Paper

  • Pen or pencil

If possible start this activity outside. Listen carefully and identify any sounds you hear. Write each sound down. Go for a walk, it can be just a short walk around your garden. Stop and listen, listen to each sound you hear and note it down. Give this part of the activity at least ten minutes, more if you can.

By this time you should have quite a few things noted down. Have a read through your list of sounds.


Think & Discuss

Were you surprised by the number of sounds you heard?

Did you hear some sounds today that you haven't noticed before?

What is the difference between hearing something and listening to something?

How did you focus on one sound at a time?


Create

Have a go at drawing your sounds and explain/discuss what the sound was like.

Can you write about the sounds you heard? A descriptive list will do.

Think about each sound in turn and what it was like, what type of noise they made.

Compare each sound with something else.

How did each sound make you feel?

Can you tell a story or create a poem about the sounds you heard and the noises they made?








Comments


bottom of page